h1

Weeaboo Wednesday: I’m Sick

September 9, 2009

weeaboo

So I’ve been stricken with some kind of horrible and life consuming strain of flu. While my initial plan was to sit around and feel sorry for myself, I had a realization: this was a golden opportunity to try some of the ways the people of Japan deal with their colds, flu, and other horrors. I did some research (and tapped into my own tremendous store of Japanese knowledge) and went to work on healing myself. One of the maxims of eastern medicine being that the bitterer the better, I knew I was in for a taxing experience.

Robotic cats are symbols of good health in traditional Japanese culture

Robotic cats are symbols of good health in traditional Japanese culture

Hit the jump for my quest for a cure!

I always don my Dragonball Z™ Surgical mask when I take ill, so I knew I had to go above and beyond with my cures. I figured I would start small with a bit of feel good food. When it comes to colds, one need look no further than okayu! Made with rice, water, and love, okayu is the chicken soup of Japan. It’s the go-to sickbed meal because it is easy to digest and doesn’t require teeth to eat (always a plus). That said eating anything with the constancy of Easy Mac made by a thumbless three-year-old and all the flavor of a single grain of rice didn’t really appeal. I did feel that the green onion added much needed flavor. Oh, and it was very easy to digest. So yeah, good enough.  Japan: 1; Flu: 0.

Bottoms Up...

Bottoms Up...

My next solution was a little more up my alley. Tamagozake (literally: eggalcohol) is a mixture of egg and alcohol boiled together in an unholy union of odd taste. The high calories of the egg combine with the warming properties of the sake it ease chills and lull you into a quiet, shameless death. It’s like the Japanese peanut butter and chocolate if Japanese peanut butter and chocolate were more about evoking the sorrow and regret of the past than tasting delicious. In the end, Tamagozake proved left me stricken with a different kind of ailment.  Japan: 1; Flu: 0; My Loneliness: 1

If only Nyquil had never caught on...

If only Nyquil had never caught on...

Emerging from my stupor, I realized that I should probably include another entry in this post. I scoured the internet for another remedy—perhaps one to ease my sore throat. That’s when I found it. The ultimate solution. Leek Bandages. By wrapping these roasted leek strips in gauze and then wrapping them around my throat, I could ease my throat pain and wear leeks around all day. The instructions say to change the bandages often so that you are always wearing fresh leeks (i am immediately reminded of the kinoki footpads). Being an open minded gaijin that I am, I decided to try this trick, just in case I was missing out on the sure-fire way to ease a sore throat. Then I realized I would have to find and roast leeks.  Japan: 1; Flu: 1

I can't find a picture of leek bandages so look at this moe as fuck picture of Miku with 2 leeks

I can't find a picture of leek bandages so look at this moe as fuck picture of Miku with 2 leeks

Leave a Reply

